Point of Impact

Teen Driver Safety Parent Awareness Program



Table of Contents

Why Invo 2	olve Parents? It	Makes a Difference! What the Experts.Say	••••	
Class O	verview		3	
Objective	e Details and Dis Objective #1:		ws	
4-8				
	Objective #2:	Increase awareness of parental influence and role		9-10
	Objective #3:	Provide resources for parents	11	
Promotir	ng Attendance a	nd Sustainability	••••	12
Impact a	nd Evaluation		••••	13
		List		14
Sample Cla	ss Notification		15	
Class Prepa	aration Checklist		16-1	17
Parent/Gua	rdian Awareness Surv	ey	18	
Parent/Gua	rdian Awareness Surv	ey Key	•••	19
Parent Clas	s Evaluation Form		•••	20
Helping You	ur Teen Become a Saf	er Driver	21	
Parent/Teer	n Driving Contract		22	
Supervised	Driving Log		•••	23
Positive Par	renting Tips		•••	24
What's In Y	our Wallet? Sample In	surance Quotes.	25	
Withdrawal	of Parental Consent F	orm		26-27
Parent-Teer	n Driving Resources		••••	28
Minnesota S	State Patrol Contact Li	st	29	
•	anning to conduct a te	een driver parent awareness class, please e-mail Gordy Pehrson at		

Gordy.Pehrson@state.mn.us

We appreciate knowing which driver education providers are offering the class. This allows us to provide educators with program updates and resources. Also, we welcome any questions, feedback and suggestions on the program.

Contact:

Gordy Pehrson

Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety

445 Minnesota Street, Suite 150

St. Paul, MN 55101-5150

Phone: (651) 201-7072

E-mail: Gordy.pehrson@state.mn.us

involvement in mentoring novice drivers holds significant promise for further reducing young driver crashes.

Source: Journal of Safety Research 34(1), (2003), 107-115

 "Integrating driver education more thoroughly with graduated driver licensing systems, strengthening driver testing, involving parents in the driver education process and preparing them to manage risks for their new driver, and extending the duration of young driver training may have significant safety benefits."

David L. Strickland, NHTSA Administrator, June 2012

- Understanding the risks associated with teen driving as well as appreciating the complexity of state laws governing novice drivers can be an eye-opening experience for a parent. Creating a greater awareness and understanding of policies such as graduated drivers' licensing (GDL) laws will go a long way in assisting parents to help their children become safer drivers. Source: Protecting Teen Drivers, A Guidebook for State Highway Safety Offices, (2010)
- Two recent studies reveal that teen crashes and risky driving behaviors are strongly linked with the way teens and parents communicate and approach rules about safety. According to studies conducted by the research arm of the Children's Hospital of Pennsylvania (CHOP), teens who said their parents set clear rules, paid attention to where their teens were going and whom they were with, and did so in a supportive way were:
 - half as likely to crash
 - twice as likely to wear seat belts
 - 71 percent less likely to drive while intoxicated
 - 30 percent less likely to use a cell phone while driving than teens who said their parents were less involved.

Source: http://multivu.prnewswire.com/mnr/chop/39673/

- Over the last decade, evidence-based strategies to successfully increase parent involvement in young driver safety have been identified, including to:
 - target parents in programmatic efforts
 - promote high initial parent expectations for young driver safety, and
 - expose parents to goal-oriented persuasion.

Source: Simons-Morton & Hartos, 2002

• Teen drivers' parents attending Connecticut's two-hour required driver training session for parents reported the program was overwhelmingly beneficial and has led them to adopt new safety measures with their young drivers. Parents overwhelmingly agreed with statements that: training helped their role as a parent of a teen driver (85%); they approved of the requirement (83%) and they would recommend the class to other parents (82%). Parents also reported that overall the course was excellent or good 86% of the time and that the training will help to prevent teen crashes (71%).

Source: http://www.ct.gov/dmv/lib/dmv/parentsurvey.pdf

Teen Driver Safety Parent Awareness Program Overview

Goal

Reduce the number of crashes, injuries and deaths involving novice teen drivers by increasing parent awareness of teen driver safety issues and enhancing parental involvement in developing a safer teen driver.

Objectives

- **1.** Increase parent awareness of teen driving risks and laws.
- 2. Increase awareness of the important role parents play in influencing their teens to drive safely.
- 3. Provide resources for parents that help them fulfill their role effectively.

Duration

1.5 hours

Class Components

- 1. Teen driving risks. This segment is key to engaging parents with an emotional appeal and effective discussion about risks specific to teen drivers. The Point of Impact Video should be shown in this segment. This segment also covers the important role parents play in developing a safer teen driver. Involve local law enforcement and emergency medical services personnel in program planning and implementation. Law enforcement participation is important to explain laws and answer questions. Reference local teen driving incidents to illustrate key points.
- 2. Teen driving laws. Provide useful information on teen driving laws through presentations and discussions that engage parents' interest. Participants should be informed about why the teen driving laws were implemented. For example, explicitly link elements of the graduated driver's licensing law (nighttime driving, passenger restrictions, etc.) to the documented risks to teens in these areas. Discuss the shortcomings of teen driving laws (i.e., that they do not always reflect best practice), and encourage parents to establish clear and reasonable boundaries that will reduce crash risks for their teen drivers.

Emphasize parental control and making decisions that prioritize *safety over convenience*.

- 3. Family driving rules. Encourage parents to discuss family driving rules with their teen. Recommend that they develop a plan to allow more driving privileges when their teen has demonstrated safe driving and adherence to driving responsibilities over several months. Emphasize the importance of following through with consequences for violating family driving rules.
- 4. Awareness surveys. Administering pre- and post-class awareness surveys (see page 18), measures the immediate impact of the program by evaluating changes in parental confidence and knowledge of teen driving laws.
- **5. Program evaluation.** Gathers parent feedback on the content and value of the program (see page 20).
- 6. Presentation support. A PowerPoint presentation is provided and may be edited to meet individual program needs, or to remove data slides that are not relevant (e.g., rural versus urban data). We recommend that a "dry-run" be conducted with all presenters prior to the class. Testing the PowerPoint presentation on the computer that will be used during the class is suggested to ensure consistency in formatting. We also highly recommend that each presenter has a printed copy of each slide (notes pages) they will use with the primary discussion points highlighted for reference during the presentation. It's very important that each presenter be familiar with the discussion points and identifies the primary points for the specific topic they will present. Telling stories can be beneficial - only if directly related to the discussion topics and are very brief.

Objective 1 Details

Increase parent awareness of teen driving risks and laws.

Estimated time: One hour

Risks - Key Topics:

Build information about the risks of teen driving around an effective emotional appeal. Emphasize parents' influence and important role in developing a safer teen driver.

Provide local, regional, state and national information on:

- Inexperience and periods of greatest risk: first 6 12 months after licensure
- Nighttime risk: 9 p.m. 3 a.m.
- Seat belt use: teens are less likely to buckle up than other age groups
- Distractions (passengers, electronics, etc.)
- Risk-taking behaviors, peer influences, invincibility, brain development and resulting driving behaviors
 including speeding, aggressive driving, etc. Make note that some of these behavioral conditions can be
 controlled (e.g., speeding, not using a seat belt, texting, etc.) and some cannot (e.g., brain development).
 Also note that teens who are not risk-takers and who are responsible, smart, "good" kids make mistakes
 and errors in judgment while driving, too.
- Impairment from alcohol and other drugs
- Drowsy driving

Laws - Key Topics:

Explain the laws and the reasons why they exist; (relate to risks, crash data, brain development, etc.) Explain that some laws are not "best practices" and are just the minimum standard in regard to safety. Encourage parents to establish more stringent limitations and use a parent/teen driving contract before their teen gets a license. Emphasize making decisions with safety as the priority over convenience.

- Nighttime limitations
- Passenger limitations
- Cell phone use
- Texting/Internet access
- Careless/reckless driving
- Not-a-Drop (Zero Alcohol Tolerance)
- DWI
- Insurance: How driving behaviors, tickets, crash involvement, etc. impact costs.
- Legal responsibilities and consequences: Who's responsible when something bad happens?

Suggested Resources:

- Minnesota Department of Public Safety "Point of Impact" video: An 8-minute video created specifically for teen driver parent awareness programs. (See listing on page 30 or https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/teen-driving/pages/default.aspx)
- Minnesota State Patrol Young Forever Program: A realistic educational program provided free by the Minnesota State Patrol. Contact the state patrol district in your area.

(See listing on page 31 or https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/msp/contact/pages/district-index.aspx.)

- Minnesota Statutes/Teen Driving Laws, https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/laws/Pages/teen-drivers.aspx
- Teen Driver FAQs, https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/teen-driving/Pages/faq.aspx
- What's In Your Wallet? Sample Insurance Quote, (page 27)
- Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety, Teen Driving: (See listing on page 30 or https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/teen-driving/pages/default.aspx

Suggested Presenters/Community Resources

oint of Impact

Teen Driver Safety Parent Awareness Program

Emergency Medical Services

NOTE: It's very important that presenters are familiar with the content, primary discussion points and related PowerPoint slides applicable to the topic they will present.

Discussion Points

1. Statistics

- Crash rates for 16- to 19-year-old drivers are higher than those of any other age group.
- Traffic crashes are the <u>second</u> leading cause of fatalities for teens. *Source: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)*
- In the United States, the crash rate per mile driven for 16 –19-year-olds is four times the risk for older drivers. Risk is highest at age 16. The crash rate per mile driven is twice as high for 16-year-olds as it is for 18 19-year-olds. Source: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
 - In Minnesota, teen male drivers and passengers age 15 19 are more likely to die in a crash than females.

 Source: Minnesota Department of Public Safety
- Crash rates for teenagers are high largely because of their immaturity combined with driving inexperience.
 Source: IIHS
- Many teenagers die as passengers in motor vehicle crashes. Sixty percent of teenage passenger deaths
 occur in vehicles driven by another teenager. Among deaths of passengers of all ages, nearly 20 percent
 occurred when a teenager was driving. Source: IIHS
- The common thinking is that thrill-seekers and risk-takers are the primary cause of crashes. Not so. While
 risky behavior does increase the chances of a crash, teens who are not risk-takers and who are
 responsible, smart, "good" kids can make mistakes or errors in judgment while driving. Source: National
 Safety Council (NSC)
- A person's greatest lifetime chance of being in a fatal crash occurs during the first 6 to 12 months after receiving a license as a teenager. Source: NSC
- The crash risk drops by more than 2/3 after the first 1,000 1,500 miles of independent driving.
 Source: McCartt, Shabanova & Leaf, 2003

2. Teenage Driver Crash Risk Factors

What causes teen drivers to be such risky drivers? The following is a list of their primary risk factors.

Poor Hazard Detection

The ability to detect hazards in the driving environment depends upon perceptual and information-gathering skills and involves properly identifying potential threats. It takes many hours of driving experience for young novice drivers to acquire this ability.

Low Risk Perception

Risk perception involves assessing the degree of threat posed by a hazard and one's ability to deal with the threat. Young novice drivers tend to underestimate the crash risk in hazardous situations and overestimate their ability to avoid the threats they do identify.

Objective 1, Discussion Points, continued

t of Impact

Teen Driver Safety Parent Awareness Program

Teens tend to take more (and dangerous) risks while driving than adults due to overconfidence in their driving abilities and because the part of the brain that leads them to anticipate the consequences of their actions doesn't fully develop until they reach the mid-20s.

Speed

- More than 1/3 of teen driver fatalities involve speeding. Source: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
- Illegal/unsafe speed is the most common contributing factor in single-vehicle crashes. Teen drivers have difficulty judging safe speeds and adjusting their speed to driving conditions. Source: Minnesota

Distractions

- Distracted or inattentive driving is when a driver engages in any activity that might distract them from the
 primary task of driving and increases their risk of crashing. Teens are more likely to engage in distracted
 driving behaviors such as using electronic devices for texting, accessing the internet or talking on a cell
 phone.
- For teens, the risk of being in a crash increases when they transport passengers. The fatality risk of drivers aged 16-17 years is 3.6 times higher when they are driving with passengers than when they are driving alone, and the risk of a fatal crash increases as the number of passengers increases. Other teen passengers may distract the teen drivers and encourage them to take more risks, especially young males riding with young male drivers.
- Driver distraction contributes to 80% of crashes and 65% of near crashes. Source: VA Tech Transp. Institute
- For 16 and 17-yea- old drivers, just one passenger increases crash risk by about 50%. With three or more passengers, the risk is nearly four times greater than while driving alone. *Source: IIHS*

Seat Belts

- Teens tend to wear seat belts less often than other drivers and passengers.
- Lap and shoulder belts reduce the risk of fatal injury to vehicle occupants by 50%. Source: NSC
- 2/3 of teens killed in fatal crashes were not wearing seat belts. Source: NHTSA
- While rollovers account for only 3% of all passenger vehicle crashes, they account for fully 1/3 of all passenger vehicle fatalities, and 72% of those fatalities were unbuckled. Source: NHTSA

Driving at Night

- The Minnesota fatal crash rates for teen drivers (age 16 19) between 9 p.m. and 3 a.m. is nearly three times higher than the remaining hours in the day. This is because the task of driving at night is more difficult; teens have less experience driving at night; teens are more sleep deprived, and because teen recreational driving is more likely to occur at night and involves alcohol more often than during the day.
- While only 15% of teen drivers' miles occur at night, 40% of their fatal crashes occur during this time. Source: NSC
- Over fifty percent of teen fatalities occur on Fridays, Saturdays, or Sundays. Source: IIHS

Point of Impact

Teen Driver Safety Parent Awareness Program

Alcohol

- Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs is a factor in serious crashes involving teen drivers, especially fatal crashes. Not only are drivers under age 21 more likely to be involved in fatal crashes than older drivers, but their risk for fatal crash involvement increases more sharply at all levels of alcohol use.
- Drivers younger than 21 are more vulnerable than older drivers to the impairing effects of alcohol. At the same BAC, young drivers are far more likely to get into a fatal or nonfatal crash. *Source: IIHS*
- In Minnesota, most teen drivers age 15 19 killed in crashes had not consumed alcohol, but nearly 20% had: Of those killed that consumed alcohol, about 90% were at or above .08 alcohol concentration. *Source:* MN-DPS

3. Parental Attitudes, Beliefs and Behaviors

- Over half of parents are aware that vehicle crashes are the number one killer of teens, yet only about one
 quarter of them talk to their children about the dangers of unsafe driving at age 12 or younger. In
 comparison, about 70% talk to them about the dangers of smoking and drug use.
- Less than one-third of parents say teens are good drivers, yet close to 90% of parents trust their teen to drive safely, and over half believe that if their teen got into a crash, it would be someone else's fault.

- Nearly half of parents say other, more lenient parents make it difficult to control their teen's driving privileges.
- Close to 40% of parents say they often disagree with their teen's other parent (their spouse) about establishing and enforcing family driving rules.
- One of four parents say they've allowed their teen driving privileges against their own better judgment.
- Most parents believe they're prepared to teach their teens how to drive, yet they're not familiar with the laws and the main causes for teen involved crashes.
- Approximately 60% of parents have never heard of, or are only vaguely aware of, their state's graduated driver licensing laws.
- Half of parents incorrectly believe that most teen crashes result from impaired (drunk) driving, while the main causes are driving error, speeding, distractions, and driver inexperience. Source: Allstate Foundation, 2007
- Parents allow teens to drive in risky situations in the first few months after receiving their license:
 - 90% of parents allow their teen to drive after dark.
 - 77% allow their teen to drive with friends.
 - 70% allow their teen to drive in bad weather.
 - Teenage drivers whose parents made reasonable efforts to monitor their vehicle usage were about 71 percent less likely to drink and drive and 30 percent less likely to use a cellular phone while driving than their counterparts.

Source: http://www.insurance-website.com/Content/2009/09/29/study-parents-can-curb-teen-car-crashes/

Minnesota Statutes

oint of Impact restraint. Teen Driver Safety Parent Awareness Program

: child

Cell Use: MS 171.055 Subd. 2(a) makes it illegal for teen drivers to use a cell phone while the vehicle is in motion.

Texting: MS 169.475 makes it illegal for <u>all drivers</u> to use a device to compose, read, or send an electronic message or access the Internet, when the vehicle is in motion or a part of traffic.

Passengers: MS 171.055 Subd. 2c allows newly licensed teen drivers to have only one passenger under age 20 for the first 6-months of licensure, and no more than three passengers under age 20 for the subsequent 6-months, unless they are accompanied by a parent or guardian. Members of the driver's immediate family (siblings) are exempt.

Night Driving: MS 171.055 Subd. 2(b) prohibits novice teen drivers from midnight – 5 a.m. during the first 6-months of licensure, unless accompanied by a licensed driver age 25 or older, driving for employment purposes or school events.

Alcohol: MS169A.33 makes it illegal for any person under age 21 to operate a vehicle with *any* detectable amount of alcohol in their system. When convicted, the driving privileges are suspended for 30 days. A second conviction will result in suspended driving privileges for 180 days. For alcohol concentrations at or above 0.08%, regular DWI penalties apply. If proven that alcohol or drugs caused the driver to commit a driving error, a conviction for DWI can result with an alcohol concentration below 0.08%.

Objective 2 Details

Increase awareness of the important role parents play in influencing their teens to drive safely.

Estimated total time: 15 minutes.

The way teens and parents communicate and approach rules about safety is strongly linked with teen crashes and risky driving behaviors such as cell phone use, failure to wear seat belts, and drinking and driving. Emphasize that the more supervised experience, the safer the teen driver: Parents should continue to monitor and train teens during the period of greatest crash risk — the first six to 12 months after licensure.

Key Topics:

- Driver education supplements what the parent is teaching their child, not the other way around.
- It's important to provide many hours of supervised driving experience during the permit phase.
- Parents can control when their teens drive, where they can go, and more.
- Stress the importance of establishing fair driving rules that reduce risk exposure, granting additional privileges as experience is gained and responsibilities are proven.
- Encourage parent/teen discussion and using a driving contract (see page 23). Explain the importance of establishing fair driving rules that reduce risk exposure, granting additional privileges as experience is gained and teen responsibility is proven.
- Emphasize the importance of following through with consequences when problems are identified.
- Parents can withdraw consent for their child to drive by filling out a form from Driver and Vehicle Services.
 This can also be used to take a teen off an insurance policy, saving money. (See Form #PS33061, pages 28 and 29)

Suggested Handouts:

- Helping Your Teen Become a Safer Driver, page 22
- Shoulder to Shoulder, Positive Parenting Tips, page 25
- Parents, Expect Resistance, page 26
- Parent/Teen Driving Contract, page 23
- Supervised Driving Log, page 24
- What's In Your Wallet? Sample Insurance Quote, page 27
- Withdrawal of Parent Consent, page 28 29

Suggested Presenters:

- Public Health Educator
- School Counselor
- Social Worker
- Toward Zero Deaths (TZD) Safe Roads Coalition
- Parent, Family/Friend of Victim, Crash Survivor

NOTE: It's very important that presenters become familiar with the content, primary discussion points and related PowerPoint slides applicable to the topic they will present.

Discussion Points

nt of Impact

Teen Driver Safety Parent Awareness Program

and

"Expect Resistance")

- As a parent, you want your child to be well-trained and as safe as possible when behind the wheel or as a passenger in someone else's vehicle. Learning to drive is part of that training, and it's important that parents play an active role in the process of learning to drive.
- Driver education supplements what you as the parent is teaching your child, not the other way around.

- It's important that you provide many hours of supervised driving experience, in various driving conditions during the permit phase. Don't wait for your teen to experience driving in snow, on ice, or in any other challenging driving situation until they're driving alone.
- Discuss the risks and responsibilities of driving with your child at a young age and keep talking to your teen before, during and after the licensing process. This discussion should have the same — or even higher priority level — as discussing sex and drugs.
- Familiarizing yourself and your teen with Minnesota's teen driving laws, and establishing your own rules for when, where, how, and with whom your teen may drive is important.
 - 2) Setting Limits: (Refer to handouts; "Parent/Teen Driving Contract, and "Withdrawal of Consent Form")
- Even after receiving their license, teens are not prepared to drive on their own in every situation or during times of higher crash risk. Only you can decide when your teen is ready to drive without adult supervision in more challenging and risky situations.
- You can create your own Parent-Teen Driving Contract with reasonable rules and limits that you set.
- It's important that you follow through with consequences when problems arise.
- As a parent you can withdraw your consent for your teen to drive by filling out a form from the State. This can also be used to take a teen off an insurance policy, saving money.
 - 3) Parenting Skills: (Refer to handout "Positive Parenting is Ideal")

Positive Parents provide *limits* and give clear *rules and boundaries* while encouraging *independence*.

Research says teens raised by *positive* parents:

- Do better in school
- Have lower rates of depression and stress
- Are less likely to engage in risky behavior
- Have better social skills
- Are more respectful
- Deal better with conflict

Having clear driving rules and boundaries in place will help protect your teen.

Objective 3 Details

nt of Impact

10

Teen Driver Safety Parent Awareness Program

באוווומנכט נטנמו נווווכ. דא וווווומנכא.

Review available resources that can aid parents in their role of developing a safe driver.

Suggested Resources:

- Teen Driver Road Rules; Minnesota Laws for Newly Licensed Teen Drivers (DPS brochure)
- Teens Behind the Wheel; A Roadmap for Parents (DPS brochure)
- Helping Your Teen Become a Safer Driver, page 21
- Supervised Driving Log, page 24
- Positive Parenting Tips, page 25
- Parent/Teen Driving Contract, page 23
- What's In Your Wallet? Sample Insurance Quote, page 27
- Withdrawal of Parental Consent, pages 28-29
- Other materials or forms presenters want to provide.

Suggested Presenters:

- Driver Educator
- · Public Health Educator
- School Counselor
- Social Worker
- TZD Safe Roads Coalition
- Parent

NOTE: It's very important that each presenter becomes familiar with the content, discussion points and related PowerPoint slides applicable to the topics each will present.

Discussion Points: Description of Resources for Parents

- Teen Driver Road Rules (brochure) is a quick reference guide on the basic teen driving laws.
- Teens Behind the Wheel; A Roadmap for Parents (brochure) provides information on teen driving risks and laws, Minnesota's licensing system, a driving log, driving contract, and other useful information for parents.
- Helping Your Teen Become a Safer Driver (handout) gives parents tips on how to help their teens become safer drivers; from their very young years through the years after licensed.
- Supervised Driving Log (handout) is a useful tool to keep track of the different driving environments, practiced skills, and number of hours of supervised driving your teens experience during the learning stage.
- Positive Parenting Tips (handout) explains the differences of the four parenting styles and how the proper application of family rules can have a positive impact on your teen's safety.
- Parent/Teen Driving Contract (handout) can be a useful tool to establish family driving rules and understanding the consequences for violating them.
- What's In Your Wallet? Sample Insurance Quote shows effect of ticket, crash and DWI on insurance rate.
- Withdrawal of Parental Consent (handout) can be used to withdraw consent for your teen's driver's license until they're age 18. Withdrawing driving privileges is not viewed negatively by insurance companies or the State. It doesn't cost anything and can be reinstated by submitting a request to reinstate the license using the same form. Withdrawing privileges also allows you to remove your teen from an auto insurance policy to save money.

Promoting Class Attendance and Sustainability

nt of Impact

Teen Driver Safety Parent Awareness Program

 Send letter to the editor of local paper about the class and why it is important for parents to be involved.

- Work with school to allow announcements/presence at parent events (PTA, pre-school year events, etc.).
- Work with school to send e-mail announcement to parents of 9th grade students.
- Ask school to list the class on electronic signage.
- Work with local insurance agencies to promote to insureds with teens in the target age group.
- Promote in partnership with various community organizations: police department, health organizations, churches.

Possible Incentives to Promote Attendance

- Raffle a donated item (i-pod, driver classroom fee, etc.) to one parent/class.
- Offer a reduced student classroom fee if parent/guardian attends. (Example: class costs \$100, charge \$90 if parent attends.)
- Adopt a policy that requires parent/guardian attendance for a teen to complete the class.

Community Involvement

Many driver educators currently involve members of the community in their programs. Particularly, law enforcement officers are invited to discuss teen driving risks and laws with students. Law enforcement

officers understand the important role parents play in teen driving; therefore it's highly likely they will welcome the opportunity to extend the same learning opportunity to parents.

Emergency medical services staff see the horrible consequences of poor driving decisions made by teen drivers on a regular basis. They also recognize the importance of parental involvement and are likely to be receptive to participating.

Public health entities such as community or county health departments recognize teen driving as a significant public health concern. Providing education on injury prevention is a primary focus of public health organizations, which makes them excellent partners for implementing a teen driver parent awareness program.

NOTE: It's very important that each presenter becomes familiar with the content, primary discussion points, and related PowerPoint slides applicable to the topics they will present.

Sustainability

- A modest increase in user fees may be imposed to offset program costs.
- Partner (co-brand) with a local insurance agent to support the program and provide information on reducing insurance costs for teen drivers. (Allstate Insurance 100 Deadliest Days Program Model)
- Partner (co-brand) with a local business to help support /sustain the program.

nt of Impact

Teen Driver Safety Parent Awareness Program

Impact and Evaluation

The impact of a teen driver parent awareness class may be measured through:

- 1. Attendance numbers
- 2. Pre/post parent awareness surveys: see page 18
- 3. Parent class evaluation: Feedback on the parent/teen class itself, see page 20

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety will conduct an extended (3 year) evaluation of teen citation and crash data, comparing the driving records of teens whose parents attended a teen driver parent awareness class in 2014, with those that did not participate.

Teen Driver Safety Parent Awareness Program Materials and Resources

The following pages can be re-printed for conducting the parent/teen class and/or for parents' use, as appropriate.

Bold Print = Essential handout for each parent

Sample Class Notification	•••••	15
Class Preparation Checklist	16-17	
Parent/Guardian Awareness Survey (used for both pre-and post surveys)		18
Parent/Guardian Awareness Survey Key	19	
Parent Class Evaluation Form		20
Helping Your Teen Become a Safer D <u>river</u>		21
Parent/Teen Driving Contract		22
Supervised Driving Log		23
Positive Parenting Tips		24
What's In Your Wallet? Sample Insurance Quotes		
25		
Withdrawal of Parental Consent Form	26-27	
Parent-Teen Driving Resources		28
Minnesota State Patrol Contact List		29

SAMPLE Parent Awareness Class Notification

Driver Education Program

Classroom Schedule for Students and Parents:

Student Classes:

Days: Monday through Friday

Dates: August 1 through August 12

Times: 8:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Location: Little Hill High School, Room B212

Parent Awareness Class:

Date: Monday, August 1

Times: 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Location: Little Hill High School, Room B212

If you cannot attend the parent awareness class, please contact Bill Jones at 320-555-555, or e-mail

bill.jones@littlehillschool.net, to make arrangements to attend another class, prior to August 12.

Driver Education consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction, as well as 6 hours of behind the wheel

instruction. In addition, we hold a 1.5 hour parent awareness class for parents and guardians.

(Additional information can be added to suit your program needs)

Parent-Teen Driver Class Preparation Checklist

Two to Three Weeks Before Class:

Order DPS brochures; http://www.four51.com/UI/Customer.aspx?autologonid=3c5ff7c4-df40-425d-913b-106b53c86a61

Recommended: Teens Behind the Wheel A Roadmap for Parents_(DPS # PI 025)
Teen Driver Road Rules (DPS # PI 024)

Let us know that you're planning to conduct a parent-teen class by e-mailing Gordy Pehrson at Gordy.Pehrson@state.mn.us. It's helpful to know how many programs are offering a parent session and where they are located in the state.

One Week Before Class:

o Pick up refreshments

_	Sand	romindor	a maila	to confirm	οII	presenters
()	Sena	reminder	e-maiis	to contirm	all	presenters

Pre-Class Checklist:

- o Collect Completed Registration Forms
- o Distribute Pre-Class Parent Awareness Surveys
- o Collect Pre-Class Parent Awareness Surveys
- o Distribute Handouts

Post-Class Checklist:

- o Distribute Post-Class Parent Awareness Surveys
- o Collect Post-Class Parent Awareness Surveys
- o Collect Class Evaluation Form
- o Complete Instructor Presenter Feedback Form

Parent/Guardian Awareness Survey

it of Impact 17 Teen Driver Safety Parent Awareness Program

(Circle one number)

2. For the <u>first 6 months of licensure</u>, teen drivers are allowed only ____ passenger(s) under age 20 who are not members of the driver's immediate family, unless they are accompanied by a parent or guardian.

Very Confident	Confident	Neither Confident or Unconfident	Unconfident	Very Unconfident
1	2	3	4	5

(Circle one answer)

a.) 0

b.) 1

c.) 2

d.) 3

e.) 4

f.) No Limit

3. For the <u>second 6 months of licensure</u>, teen drivers are allowed only _____ passenger(s) under age 20 who are not members of the driver's immediate family, unless they are accompanied by a parent or guardian. (Circle one answer) a.) 0 b.) 1 c.) 2 d.) 3 e.) 4 f.) No Limit

4. A parent can withdraw consent for their child (under age 18), to drive by submitting a form to the Department of Public Safety. (Circle one answer) True False

5. During the <u>first 6 months of licensure</u>, teen drivers are prohibited from driving between _____ (time) and (time), unless they are accompanied by someone 25 or older.

(Circle one answer) a.) 9 p.m. & 5 a.m. b.) 11 p.m. & 6 a.m. c.) Midnight & 5 a.m. 6. It's illegal for a 16-year-old licensed teen driver to use a cell phone while driving.

(Circle one answer) True False

7. It's illegal for _____ to text or access the Internet, when the vehicle is in motion or a part of traffic. (Circle one answer) a.) Teen drivers only b.) All drivers

Minnesota law requires _____ to be buckled up or to be in a proper child restraint.
 (Circle one answer) a.) Only front seat occupants b.) All occupants c.) Only those under age 18

9. A person's greatest lifetime chance of being in a fatal crash occurs _____ (Circle one answer)

a.) during the first 6 to 12 months after receiving a license as a teenager.

b.) when a teen is issued an instruction permit and learning how to drive.

c.) after reaching the legal drinking age of 21.

Parent/Guardian Awareness Survey ANSWER KEY

Note: Administer the survey to parents before <u>and</u> after the class to evaluate changes in parental confidence and knowledge of teen driving laws. Keep pre-class surveys separate from post-class surveys.

- 1. N/A (Opinions only)
- 2. For the first 6-months of licensure, teen drivers are allowed only **b.) 1 passenger** under age 20 who are not members of the driver's immediate family, unless they are accompanied by a parent or guardian.
- 3. For the second 6-months of licensure, teen drivers are allowed only **d.) 3 passengers** under age 20 who are not members of the driver's immediate family, unless they are accompanied by a parent or guardian.
- 4. A parent can withdraw consent for their child (under age 18), to drive by submitting a form to the Department of Public Safety. **True**
- 5. During the first 6-months of licensure, novice teen drivers are prohibited from driving between **c.**) **midnight and 5 a.m.** unless they are accompanied by someone 25 or older.
- 6. It's illegal for a 16 year old licensed teen driver to use a cell phone while driving. **True**
- 7. It's illegal for **b.) all drivers** to text or access the Internet, when the vehicle is in motion or a part of traffic.
- 8. Minnesota law requires **b.) All occupants** to be buckled up or to be in a proper child restraint.
- 9. A person's greatest lifetime chance of being in a fatal crash occurs a.) during the first 6 to 12 months after receiving a license as a teenager.

of Impact 19 Teen Driver Safety Parent Awareness Program

to Safer Teen Driving Teen Drivers: The Parent's Role 20

Parent Awareness Class Evaluation Form

Date			
Your feedback is very important. Please take a few minutes to evaluate this of	class.		
	(Circ	le One)	
1. I will use the information from this class to help my teen become a safer dr	river.	Yes	No
2. I would recommend this class to other parents of teen drivers.		Yes	No
3. I feel this class should be required for parents of all teen drivers.	Yes	No	
4. What topics should be added to future parent driver awareness classes?			
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			
Day of the Week: Time of Day:			
Location:			
Length of Class:			
Other:			
(Circle One)			
6. Overall, this parent driver awareness class was: Poor Fair Go	od E	xcellen	nt

nt of Impact

Helping Your Teen Become a Safer Driver

As a parent, you ultimately want your teen to be well-trained and as safe as possible when behind the wheel or as a passenger in someone else's vehicle. Learning how to physically handle a vehicle is just one part of becoming a safe driver. It's important that parents play an active role in helping their teens develop their decision making skills as well as their vehicle handling skills.

Before Your Teen is Driving:

- Your children are watching you. Practice what you preach. Be a positive role model when you're behind the
 wheel. Your teen is more likely to be a calm and courteous driver, wear a seat belt and follow the rules of
 the road if they see you do the same.
- Discuss the risks and responsibilities of driving with your child at a young age and keep talking to your teen before, during and after the licensing process. This discussion should have the same — or even higher priority level — as discussing sex and drugs.
- Empower your teen. Being a passenger in another teen's car can put your teen at risk. Peer pressure
 among teens can be both positive and negative. Make sure your teen knows it's okay to say something if
 uncomfortable while riding with a friend and help him/her practice what to say in these situations. Although
 you can't be with your teen at all times, you can say how important it is that your teen speaks up in
 dangerous situations.

During the Pre-License Learning Stage:

- Don't rush the training process. Just because a teen has a license, it doesn't mean they're ready for every
 driving situation or condition. Nothing can replace the many hours of supervised driving experience they
 need with you while learning how to handle most of the challenges they will eventually encounter
 independently.
- Understand Minnesota's graduated driver licensing laws and discuss them with your teen. Using these
 laws as a minimum standard, establish your own family rules for when, where, how, and with whom your
 teen may drive by creating a Parent-Teen Driving Contract. It's important that you set reasonable rules and
 limits that minimize risks, and follow through with consequences when problems arise.

When Your Teen is Licensed:

- Make decisions with your teen's safety as the highest priority. Even after receiving their license, teens are
 not prepared to drive on their own in every situation or during times of higher crash risk. Only you can
 decide when your teen is ready to drive without adult supervision in more challenging and risky situations.
- When your teen demonstrates his/her ability to drive safely, adhere to laws, and follow your family rules, you can consider allowing additional driving privileges. Privileges should still be based on limiting their exposure to crash risks. If problems arise after additional privileges are granted, go back to using the rules that were in place before.

Parent/Teen Driving Contract

As a new driver I promise to:

2. Never drive after consuming alcohol or drugs.

1. Always wear my seat belt and require all passengers to do so.

Be a passenger only with Always call for a ride if it Be a courteous driver. Call if I will be more than Drive at safe speeds for Never engage in racing, Not conceal tickets, war Not drive when fatigued 11. Never use a cell phone 12. Not drive aggressively, 13. Not allow anyone else to 14. Abide by passenger and 15. Other:	t's not safe to n mir road condition stunts, or ot nings, or crast or other elect tailgate, or spectally or drive the cast d night driving	o drive or ride. nutes late. ons — at or be her thrill-seekir shes. tronic device w beed up to get to growisions.	low the speed Ing activities. Then driving. Through yellow	lights.		
As your parent/guardia	n I promise	to:				
 Be available for practice Be available to pick you Other: 	up if it's not	safe for you to		ditions.		
We agree to the followin	ng:					
Review these provisions icensure:	periodically) Number of p	assengers un	der age 20 al	lowed during	g first year of
Months 1-6	o None	o One*				
Months 7-12	o None	o One	o Two	o Three*		
After one year of licensure Maximum allowed by law	o None	o One	o Two	o Three		
Seat Belts: D All passengers will wear a	a seat belt at	all times.				
Nighttime driving limita Months 1-6, no driving fro		g the first ye	ar of licensu	re:		
o Midnight to 5 a.m. (as required by		O p (use this opti	o.m. or dark to so on to extend the n	5 a.m. ighttime driving l	imitation)	
Months 7-12 , no driving f o Midnight to 5 a.m.		p.m. or d	ark to 5 a.m.	0	_ to	_
Road Conditions:						
o Good weather o	All weather	o Low-traffic	volume o Hig	gh-traffic volun	ne	
Гееn's Signature			Date			
Parent's Signature			Date)		

Student's	Name	
o caaon co	1141110	





Supervised Driving Log

Effective January 1, 2015, every driver under the age of 18 who completes behind the wheel instruction and is testing for a provisional driver's license must submit a driving log. Parents/guardians have *two* options regarding the supervised driving log:

- Complete a supplemental parent class provided by a driver education program approved in Minnesota, and then submit a supervised driving log showing their teen has completed at least 40 hours (2,400 minutes) of supervised driving, 15 (900 minutes) of which are nighttime hours; OR
- If the parent/guardian chooses to not complete the supplemental parent class, the driving log must show that their teen has completed at least 50 hours (3,000 minutes) of supervised driving, 15 (900 minutes) of which are nighttime hours.

Parents/guardians are encouraged to provide as many additional driving hours with their teen as possible to prepare them to become a safe driver. The driving log must be presented at the time of the road test and submitted with the application for the provisional license. Attach additional sheets, if necessary.

Date	Day Minutes	Night Minutes	Total Minutes	Skills Practiced	Date	Day Minutes	Night Minutes	Total Minutes	Skills Practiced
/15/14	90	30	120	parking; turns					
					1				
TOTAL S	DAY:	NIGHT:	TOTAL MI	NUTES:	TOTAL S	DAY:	NIGHT:	TOTAL MIN	UTES:

I hereby affirm that I am the parent/guardian who has supervised my teen driver for the majority of the required driving hours, and that my teen has driven the hours listed above.

TOTA L DRIVIN

Signature of Primary Driving Supervisor

Date

Positive Parenting is Ideal

POSITIVE PARENTING

is warm, supportive and encouraging while being firm, consistent and clear with limits and boundaries.

- HIGH Nurturance
- HIGH Expectations
- HIGH Respect

"I'm important in my teen's life. We have some good times & some bad times, but I'm there for the long run."

PERMISSIVE PARENTING

is inconsistent enforcement of rules, or no rules at all, and a need to be a pal more than a parent.

- HIGH Nurturance
- LOW Expectations
- MODERATE Respect

"I really want to enjoy parenting my teen. It's important for them to fit I, have what they want, & not have too many rules.

We get along better that way."

DOMINATING PARENTING

is harsh, punitive and rigid.

- LOW Nurturance
- HIGH Expectations
- LOW Respect

"I need to really clamp down now that he's a teen.

If you give him an inch, he'll take a mile."

UNENGAGED PARENTING

is inconsistent presence in a child's life – teens raise themselves.

- LOW Nurturance
- HIGH Expectations
- LOW Respect

"It's time to let go now that my child's grown up. It's time to get my needs met. He can take care of himself."

Positive Parents:

Provide *LIMITS*. Give clear *RULES* and *BOUNDARIES* while *ENCOURAGING INDEPENDENCE* RESEARCH SAYS:

Teens raised by *POSITIVE* parents:

- Do better in school
- Have lower rates of depression and stress
- Are less likely to engage in risky behavior
- Have better social skills
- Are more respectful
- · Deal better with conflict

Positive parenting has been shown to be the most effective parenting style. This is true across different cultural, racial and economic groups.

Teens Need Rules

FIRM RULES: Some rules are firm and not to be changed whether your teen agrees with them or not. These rules are understood by both parents and teens. Use firm rules when:

- Physical or emotional health and safety is at stake
- The family's values are at stake

FLEXIBLE RULES: Some rules are open for discussion and can be negotiated, waived or changed, if there is a good reason. Use flexible rules when:

- It's not a health and safety issue
- The issue doesn't affect or compromise your family's values

What's In Your Wallet?

Sample Insurance Quote for Teen Drivers

2005 Chevrolet Cavalier Sedan						
Coverage	Limit	Deductible				
Injury	\$100,000 per person, \$300,000 per	N/A				
	crash					
Property Damage	\$100,000	N/A				
Uninsured Motorist	\$100,000 per person, \$300,000 per	N/A				
	crash					
Underinsured Motorist	\$100,000 per person, \$300,000 per	N/A				
	crash					
Personal Injury	\$20,000 medical, \$20,000 economic	\$0/\$0				
Protection/No-Fault						
Comprehensive	Actual Cash Value	\$500				
Collision	Actual Cash Value	\$1,000				
Towing	N/A	N/A				
Glass	Replacement	\$0				

Cost estimates assume the teen is under their parent's insurance policy and is the primary driver of this vehicle.

MALE GOOD STUDENT, Age 16								
Clean One Ticket One Crash DWI								
	Record							
Monthly Premium	\$131.57	\$148.82	\$171.04	\$484.02				
6-Month Premium	\$804.40	\$907.90	\$1,045.72	\$2,919.10				

FEMALE GOOD STUDENT, Age 16								
	Clean	One Ticket	One Crash	DWI				
	Record							



Monthly Premium	\$87.77	\$103.12	\$114.01	\$382.97
6-Month Premium	\$541.60	\$633.70	\$704.08	\$2,312.80

Print Form



MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES

Withdrawal of Parental Consent / Voluntary Surrender

Print this completed form. The form can be mailed or submitted in person to Driver and Vehicle Services, 445 Minnesota Street - Ste. 170, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-5170. It may also be faxed to 651-282-2463.

• If you have questions or need additional information, please contact DVS at 651-296-2025 or 651-282-6555 (TTY).

٠	Т	ens	ure th	at this	reque	st is p	roces	sed in	a time	ely ma	nner,	pleas	e typ	e (0	r print legibly.
Name (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL)						1	Date of Birth (mm/dd/yy)									
DL Number (OMIT DASHES)																
Α	Wit	hdrav	val of	Paren	tal Co	nsent	/ Volu	ıntary	Surre	nder						
\circ	l an age	n req 18.	uestin	g that	Driver	and \	/ehicle	e Servi	ces <u>c</u>	ancel	the d	riving	privi	leg	ge	es of the above-named child, who is under
\circ	O I am over age 18 and voluntarily request <u>cancelation</u> of my driving privileges.															
В	Rei	nstat	ement													
	or s priv I an veh	he m ilege n ove	ay <u>no</u> s have r age intil I r	<u>t</u> oper e been 18 an	rate a in reins:	motor tated. est tha	vehicl	le until driving	receive privil	ving w	ritten be rei	notific nstate	eation	n fr	ro de	age 18, be reinstated. I understand that he om Driver and Vehicle Services that driving erstand that I may <u>not</u> operate a motor nat my driving privileges have been
priv	/ileg	es. I	have	inforn	ned hi	im/her	that		ay no	ot ope	rate a	a mot	or ve	hic	cl	ng the above-named child's driving le until receiving from Driver and Vehicle eated.
sig	ned	the \		rawal												ally granting consent to drive, or who beling the driving privileges of the above-
Par	Parent/guardian signature of above-named minor child Date (mm/dd/yy)							Date (mm/dd/yy)								
not	оре	erate	a mo	tor ve		again										nd reinstating my driving privileges. I will ver and Vehicle Services that my driving
Sig	nat	ure o	f licer	se ho	lder o	ver ag	ge 18								-	Date (mm/dd/yy)
PS3	306°	1-04 (5/10)													

over

Withdrawal of Parental Consent/Voluntary Surrender Form Information

- The withdrawal of parental consent form can be used by a parent or legal guardian to cancel the driving privileges of their teen driver who is under age 18.
- The form can be signed only by the parent/guardian who signed the application that originally granted consent for their minor child to drive.
- Cancelling driving privileges can be used to remove a driver from an auto insurance policy to save money.
- Unlike revocations or suspensions resulting from violating laws or at-fault-crashes, cancelling driving privileges is not viewed negatively by insurance companies or the state licensing agency.
- There is no fee for withdrawing parental consent or reinstating driving privileges after cancellation.
- Knowledge and/or driving tests are not required to reinstate driving privileges after cancellation.
- Under no circumstances can a cancelled driver legally operate a motor vehicle on public roads.
- Driving with a cancelled driver's license can result in criminal and civil penalties, and higher insurance rates.

Source: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/forms-documents/DL ParentalConsentWithdrawalorVoluntarySurrender.pdf

Parent-Teen Driving Resources

Online and Print Resources

Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety:

Teen Driver Laws, https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/laws/Pages/teen-drivers.aspx

Underage Drinking Laws, https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/laws/Pages/underage-drinking.aspx

Teen Driver FAQs, https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/teen-driving/Pages/faq.aspx

Teen Driver Road Rules brochure, https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/educational-materials/Documents/teen-road-rules-brochure.pdf

Teens Behind the Wheel – A Roadmap for Parents, https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/educational-materials/Documents/Teens-Behind-the-Wheel-Brochure.pdf

Teen-Parent Driving Contract and Driver Training Log, https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/educational-materials/Documents/Teen-Contract-Log-Sheet.pdf

Teen Driving Fact Sheets, https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/reports-statistics/Pages/Fact-sheets.aspx

Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Driver & Vehicle Services: Driver's Manuals and more, https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/forms-documents/Pages/default.aspx

AAA and the Minnesota Safety Council: Get There! Your Guide to Traffic Safety booklet, http://www.minnesotasafetycouncil.org/traffic/GetThere.pdf

AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety: http://teendriving.aaa.com/MN/

Allstate Foundation, http://www.allstate.com/foundation/teen-driving/parent-research.aspx

The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia: Enhancing Education to Keep Teens Safe on the Road, Training Tools for Worksite, School, and Community Educators, 2011, http://www.teendriversource.org/

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD): Underage Drinking/The Power of Parents, http://www.madd.org/underage-drinking

National Organizations for Youth Safety: http://www.noys.org

Blog for Parents of Teen Drivers: www.fromreidsdad.org

Video Resources

Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety: "Point of Impact" (8 min) https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/teen-driving/pages/default.aspx)

Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety:, "Lawyer Teen-Parent Rules" http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f_I3DN7loAQ

AT&T: "Texting While Driving" (10.44 min), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DebhWD6ljZs

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): "Parents are the Key to Safe Drivers" (4.43 min), http://www.cdc.gov/ParentsAreTheKey/socialmedia/video.html

KMSP Fox 9: "Fatality Risks With Teen Passengers,"

http://www.myfoxtwincities.com/story/18247847/aaa-fatality-risk-rises-with-number-of-teens-in-vehicle

Crash Prevention Skills Training

MN Highway Safety & Research Center, http://www.mnsafetycenter.org

Dakota County Technical College, http://www.dctc.edu/continuing-education/transportation-safety/accident-avoidance/

Minnesota State Patrol Contact List

Central Office, St. Paul, Lt. Eric Roeske
(651) 201-7146
DISTRICT 2100, Rochester
(507) 285-7406
DISTRICT 2200, Mankato
(507) 344-2750
DISTRICT 2300, Marshall
(507) 537-3664
DISTRICT 2400, Oakdale
(651) 779-5900
DISTRICT 2500, Golden Valley
(763) 591-4680
DISTRICT 2600, St. Cloud
(320) 255-2916
DISTRICT 2700, Duluth
(218) 723-4888
DISTRICT 2800, Brainerd
(218) 828-2230
DISTRICT 2900, Detroit Lakes
(218) 847-1584
DISTRICT 3100, Virginia
(218) 749-7720
DISTRICT 3200, Thief River Falls
(218) 681-0943