

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 17, 2015 **Contact:**

Jennifer Freeburg, MADD Minnesota 651-523-0802 ext. 2759 jennifer.freeburg@madd.org

MADD MINNESOTA Announces Statewide Recognition Award Winners

ST. PAUL, MN – On Monday, April 13, 2015 Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) Minnesota recognized individuals and agencies across the state for their outstanding work in keeping our communities safe in 2014.

The goal of the recognition awards is to highlight people who, either in their work or in their daily lives, have embraced MADD's mission to end drunk driving, help fight drugged driving, support the victims of these violent crimes, and prevent underage drinking.

Nominees and winners were honored at MADD's 9th annual Statewide Recognition Awards ceremony and luncheon, held at the Science Museum of Minnesota and emceed by Rena Sarigianopoulos of KARE 11. During the ceremony, attendees heard from three victims/survivors of impaired driving crashes about their personal journeys. In addition, 75 members of law enforcement received MADD Minnesota's Top Enforcer pins for achieving 25-150+ DWI arrests in 2014.

"The Merriam-Webster dictionary defines the word 'hero' as 'a person who is admired for great or brave acts or fine qualities.' And, it defines the word 'friend' as 'a person who you like and enjoy being with; a person who helps or supports someone or something.' To MADD Minnesota, all the nominees here today are our heroes and friends, whether it be in the area of drunk and drugged driving enforcement, criminal justice, underage drinking prevention, public safety, policy setting, victim services, media, or volunteerism," said Jennifer Freeburg, MADD Minnesota's State Executive Director.

MADD MINNESOTA STATEWIDE RECOGNITION AWARD WINNERS

Underage Drinking Prevention Awards Category

- Environmental Strategy Prevention Sheriff Brian Smith, Kanabec County Sheriff's Office
- Outstanding School Resource Officer Officer Adam Gau, Isanti Police Department
- **Teen Influencers-** The members of MADD's "Teen Influencer Pilot Group:" Andrea Heinl, Oakdale; Madison Marko, Maple Grove; and Firdaush Yasmin, Edina
- **Tom Keating Award** Andy Berndt, Director of Social Marketing and Health Promotion at Community Blueprint (Mpls.)

Prosecutor and Judge Awards Category

- Outstanding Metro Area Judge- Judge Joanne Smith, Ramsey County
- Outstanding Greater Minnesota Judge- Judge James Dehn, Isanti County
- Outstanding Metro Area Prosecutor Jessica McConaughey, St. Paul City Attorney's Office
- Outstanding Greater Minnesota Prosecutor Lisa Roggenkamp Rakotz, Aitkin County Attorney's Office

Community Awards Category

- **Policy Setter-** The members of North Memorial Medical Center Partnership For Change's "Place Of Last Drink Task Force:" Sergeant Patrick Toohey, Brooklyn Center Police Department; Officer Shane Mikkelson, Osseo Police Department; Community Relations Officer Jim Long, Plymouth Police Department; and Sheila Nesbitt, SPF-SIG Coordinator at Partnership for Change
- **Public Safety Champion** The members of St. Cloud Police Department's "Community Crime Impact Team:" Sergeant Martin Sayre, Officer Tad Hoeschen, and Officer Adan Salazer
- Victim Services Award (Metro Area) Jenny Paripovich, Victim/Witness Coordinator for Wright County
- Victim Services Award (Greater Minnesota) Jerry Souder, Owner/Director of Dennis Funeral Home (Walker/Cass Lake/Longville)
- Media Making A Difference News Radio 830 WCCO
- Victim Impact Panel Speaker Of The Year- George Sierkowski, Owatonna

Law Enforcement Awards Category

- **Outstanding Service** (Metro Area) Officer Tim Tourville, Crystal Police Department; and Sergeant Mark Geyer, South Lake Minnetonka Police Department
- Outstanding Service (Greater Minnesota) Officer Darin Vossen, St. Cloud Police Department
- Outstanding Rookie (Metro Area)- Officer Alex Luck, Rosemount Police Department
- Outstanding Rookie (Greater Minnesota) Deputy Cody Vojacek, Stearn's County Sheriff's Office
- Outstanding Law Enforcement Agency- South Lake Minnetonka Police Department
- Drugged Driving Enforcement Trooper Aaron Nevala, Minnesota State Patrol

MADD Choice Award

- Sergeant Geoff Maciejewski, University of Minnesota Police Department
- The St. Paul Fire Honor Guard
- Members of the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension's "eCharging System" project: Mike Asleson, Kyle Jacobson, and Dean Wong

Event made possible by Presenting Sponsor TSR Injury Law.

###