Updated Driver License Administrative

Sanctions Using New Technology
Overview of Strengthened DWI Sanctions Law — Effective July 1, 2011

The Impaired Driving Epidemic

Impaired driving remains a serious threat on Minnesota roads, accounting for one-third of all traffic deaths
annually. One in seven Minnesota drivers has a DWI on record and 40 percent of those will re-offend. Further,
each year, 40,000 Minnesotans are convicted driving with an invalid license.

(Strengthened Sanctions \

* First-time DWI offenders with a 0.16 and above alcohol-concentration level and all repeat DWI
offenders will be required to have ignition interlock devices installed on any vehicle they drive.

* First-time DWI offenders with a 0.16 and above alcohol concentration level and all repeat DWI
offenders that choose not to use ignition interlocks will not have driving privileges ranging from one year
to six years, depending on offense level.

* Interlock users will regain full driving privileges immediately after the offense, ensuring they are driving
with a valid license and not a threat on the roadway.

* Interlock will be used to monitor chronic DWI offenders to verify reinstatement requirements.

Benefits

e Safer roads and reduced criminal justice costs through the use of ignition interlock on high-risk drivers.
Interlocks stop DWI offenders from driving after drinking and prevent re-arrests.

* Creates a method for offenders to obtain a valid driver's license — 75 percent of DWI offenders drive
illegally after arrested.

( Encourages behavior modification and rehabilitation. )

Ignition Interlock — A Proven Tool to Prevent Impaired Driving

An ignition interlock device connected to a car’s electrical system
can test a motorist’s blood-alcohol content level before driving.

HOWTHE DEVICE WORKS WHILE ONTHE ROAD

« A driver must retake the test at

random intervals. If the driver flunks

the test and the device registers a

Q “fail,” the device will ask the user to
take the vehicle in for early

calibration.

Driver breathes
into device for two
to five seconds. If the
level is 0.02% or above,
the car will not start.

The device will MONITORING RESULTS
indicate whether Every month, data from the device
driver has passed or is monitored to see:

failed. - Whether and when the driver

committed violations.
* Whether the system was
tampered with or disconnected.
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Offense

First-Time
Offender

First-Time
Offender

Test Refusal

First-Time
Offender

High Alcohol
Concentration

Second-Time
Offender

Second-Time
Offender

High Alcohol
Concentration
or Test Refusal

Third, Fourth
Fifth and
Subsequent
Offenses

(Length of time
is dependent on
number of
offenses)

Current Law

3 month revocation of driving privileges.
15 days no driving privileges and a limited
license provided for remaining revocation
period.

1 year revocation of driving privileges.

15 days no driving privileges and a limited
license provided for remaining revocation
period.

0.20 alcohol-concentration level

6 months revocation of driving privileges.
30 days no driving privileges and a
limited license provided for remaining
revocation period.

6 months revocation of driving privileges.
90 days no driving privileges.

Limited license provided for remaining
revocation period.

0.20 alcohol-concentration level

1 year revocation of driving privileges.
6 months no driving privileges.
Limited license provided for remaining
revocation period.

1, 3, or 6 years revocation /cancellation
of driving privileges (based on number of
times the person completed
rehabilitation/reinstated a license).*

No driving privileges.

Conditions of reinstatement
1, 3 or 6 years demonstration of no
alcohol or controlled substances use.
Completion of treatment.
Verified by five letters
attendance.
Life-long restriction of no alcohol or
controlled substance use.

and AA

New Law —

Effective July 1, 2011

e 3 month revocation of driving privileges.

* Driver has a choice of the following:

1. 15 days no driving privileges and a limited license
provided for remaining revocation period.
2. Full driving privileges provided for the revocation

period with the use of ignition interlock.

1 year revocation of driving privileges.
Driver has a choice of the following:

1. 15 days no driving privileges and a limited license
provided for remaining revocation period.

2. Full driving privileges provided for the revocation
period with the use of ignition interlock.

0.16 alcohol concentration level
1 year revocation of driving privileges.
Full driving privileges provided with the use of ignition
interlock.

1 year revocation of driving privileges.
Full driving privileges provided for revocation period
with the use of ignition interlock.

0.16 alcohol-concentration level
2 year revocation of driving privileges.
Full driving privileges provided for revocation period
with the use of ignition interlock.

3, 4 or 6 years revocation /cancellation of driving
privileges.*

1 year limited license provided with the use of ignition
interlock.

2, 3 or 5 years full driving privileges with the use of
ignition interlock.

Conditions of Reinstatement
3, 4 or 6 years demonstration of no alcohol or
controlled substances use.
Completion of treatment.
Verified by 3 years of ignition interlock.
10 year restriction of no alcohol or controlled
substance use (may remove if compliant for 10-year
period).

*Time may be extended if alcohol use is detected
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